North Cyprus general info

Cyprus is third biggest island in the Mediterranean, after Sicily and Sardinia. Cyprus has since 1974 been divided into two: Republic of Cyprus (Greek Cypriot population, occupies the south side of the island) and The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (Turkish Cypriot population, occupies the northern and eastern part of the island).

Population: The whole island has a population of 1.2 million people; 850 000 live in the south side and 350 000 in the north side.

Capital: Nicosia/Lefkosa

Biggest cities: Nicosia, Kyrenia, Famagusta.

Climate: 340 sunny days with long, warm and relatively dry summers, except for July and August, and mild winters. Rainy period is in late December and early January.

Language: Turkish is the official language, but since Cyprus was a British colony until 1960, most of the population has a rather good command of the English language as well.

Currency: YTL/ New Turkish Lira; Banknotes 100,50, 20, 10, 5, 1.

Time zone: CET +2

How to get there: You can get there by plane or by sea. There are 2 major airports, one on each side of the island. Next to the capital Nicosia is Ercan airport, and in the close proximity of Larnaca is Hermes airport. Ferries come from Alanya in Turkey.

Emergency numbers: Ambulance 112, Police 155, Fire 199.

Opening hours:
summer = s
winter = w

s 8:00-13:00, 16:00-19:00
9:00-13:00, 14:00-18:00

8:00-12:00, 14:00-16:00

Public services
Monday: 07:30-14:00, 15:30-18:00
Tuesday-Friday: 07:30-14:00
Monday-Friday: 08:00-13:00, 14:00-17:00

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s